See how much you can save on reliable, affordable car insurance. Call 985-960-3145 for a free quote or request a quote online
We've provided some information below that we hope will be helpful in answering some of the more common questions we've received from our customers.
Mandatory Minimum Level of Coverage
If you live and drive in Louisiana, state law requires you to carry minimum limits on your automobile, and you must purchase these minimums in order to register your vehicle. But insurers in your state recommend you purchase more than the minimums to ensure safe driving and adequate coverage in case of accident.
Basic coverage in Louisiana includes what is referred to as 15/30/25. Translated, this means drivers must carry a minimum of $15,000 liability coverage per person per accident; $30,000 total liability per accident and $25,000 property damage per accident.
If you’re involved in a mishap and don't have enough coverage to pay for all accident-related expenses, you will be required to pay the amount over and above your policy limits. This can be financially devastating. Speak to an Allrisk licensed car insurance agent to find out how much insurance you need to make sure you are well covered.
Frequently Asked Questions Regarding Louisiana Auto Insurance
In Louisiana, driving without auto insurance is a serious offense. Failure to show proof of insurance when requested may result in fines or a suspended license.
Your insurance company is required by law to issue you an auto insurance policy information card for each vehicle they insure. Your auto insurance policy information card must be carried in your vehicle at all times when the vehicle is driven. In addition to being a requirement of law in Louisiana, an auto insurance policy information card may be needed if you are traveling in other states where they may not recognize the information on our database. If you are involved in an accident, your valid insurance card can also be used to easily exchange insurance information, i.e. your insurance company's name, policy number, agent's name and telephone number, etc.
You may call the DMV's toll free number at 1-877-DMV-LINE (1-877-368-5463) and select option 1, or you may visit your local Motor Vehicle Reinstatement Offices
NOTE: You will not be able to renew your license plate or driver's license until the flag is cleared.
All cancellations of insurance are reported by the insurance companies to this Department. In order to clear the cancellation/flag from your record, you will need one of the following:
1. New insurance information (card or copy of policy) with coverage effective within one day of the cancellation date from a company authorized to do business in Louisiana.
2. Turn in the license plate within one day of the cancellation date.
3. Provide proof the vehicle was sold, traded, junked, salvaged, totaled, repossessed, returned to lessor, or registered out of state within one day of the cancellation date.
If you can provide any of the above information/compliance with an effective date within ten days of the cancellation date, there will not be any reinstatement fees due.